While residents can purchase cannabis for medical reasons, is Massachusetts recreational cannabis legal as well. Here’s what we know.
Cannabis is gradually being legalized all around the world, mind you, in different levels. In the states, we see medicinal cannabis legalized widely, while recreational usage still struggling to become the norm. But it’s only a matter of time before it’s legal in all forms. Is cannabis legal in Massachusetts? Yes!
The first shop in Massachusetts, that sold recreational cannabis, opened on November 20, 2018. In fact, two locations in Massachusetts opened on the very same day. As time went by, and still moving forward today, more and more shops opened state-wide. It was a game changer for those who wished to try cannabis for the first time, or even those who desired an experience with an ‘old hobby’. History in Massachusetts was made that day.
But immediately rules were put into place for purchasing recreational cannabis. Implementing laws for usage of cannabis was necessary. Although cannabis has many great properties, it must be used in moderation. As with all things, there are safety aspects to keep in mind. With, understanding the legal aspects of recreational weed is important.
You have be 21 years or older to buy cannabis in Massachusetts.
Remember that we are living in new times with new laws and regulations. Cops do not search for people with cannabis with a view to charging you. Most likely you have a tail light out or any other non-cannabis reason for a routine traffic stop.
If you are not using cannabis in the car, under the influence, or have an ‘open container’ you are within your rights.
It’s illegal to drive while under the influence of cannabis. Take public transportation, contact a ride-share, or catch a lift with a sober friend.
Keeping your cannabis locked in the trunk is a great option.
Do not cross any state lines with cannabis in the car.
Imagine your exit packaging from the store, like a purchased liquor bottle. Treat it the same. If you open the bottle of liquor, you are now breaking the law. Keep your cannabis purchased sealed/stapled and closed until you are home.
Just like alcohol, it’s illegal to have an open container of any form of cannabis in the passenger area of a car. An individual may receive a civil penalty of up to $500 for having an open container of cannabis in the passenger area of a vehicle while on the road or at a place where the public has access. Store cannabis in a closed container and place it in your trunk or a locked glove compartment.
If you have less than 28grams of cannabis and under 5 grams of concentrate, as long as you did not visit two stores and make two purchases at maximum allotment, you are within your rights.
You may have up to 10 ounces at home. If you have more than one ounce of cannabis in your home, it must be locked in a secure place. In fact, it’s best to lock away all cannabis-based products in childproof packaging to keep kids and pets safe.
You cannot use cannabis in any form, including smoking, vaping, or eating in public places or on Federal land.
You cannot send cannabis by mail, even to states and countries where cannabis use is legal.
If you rent, your landlord cannot be punished for allowing cannabis use on the property
You can share or gift cannabis to another adult 21 years of age or older, but you may not SELL cannabis in any way.
Looking for more information about the laws, take a look here.